See 2023 Award Winners to date!


The Edward Allen Student Award is the highest honor given by the Building Technology Educators’ Society recognizing students–who over their academic career–have demonstrated commitment, passion, curiosity, and excellence in the integration of building technology and architectural design.


NAAB and CACB accredited architecture programs may annually select one undergraduate student and/or one graduate student currently enrolled in the final year of their first professional degree program [B.ARCH. or M.ARCH. respectively]. The architecture program must have at least one current BTES member on their faculty in order to be eligible to give the Edward Allen Student Award.


Selection of the Edward Allen Student Award winner is left to the discretion of the architecture program within the criteria listed below. The BTES is pleased to honor one undergraduate student and/or one graduate student per institution who demonstrates excellence and rigor in the integration of building technology and architectural design.

  • Building technology is inclusive of topics such as structures, building assemblies, energy systems, environmental control systems (active and passive), sustainable systems, material performance, material science, fabrication, project delivery, BIM, construction management, and similar.
  • Architectural design excellence is based upon an integral relationship between a projects’ design intent and performance. Performance may include innovative approaches to building technology integration; high performance over the lifespan of the building; efficiency of production and assembly; durability and resilience; sustainability, and mitigated environmental impact; and ability to provide a healthy, accessible, and safe environment for all users.
  • Within design studios, thesis projects, and building technology classes, excellence shall be evaluated based on the student's critical understanding of building technologies and their ability to enrich and impact building design, performance, and buildability. The student should demonstrate the ability to think critically, engage in research, and apply their knowledge to creative work as innovative conclusions.

The selected student's contact information along with the nomination statement will be submitted to the BTES using this Online Form. Each recipient of the Edward Allen Student Award will receive a medallion and certificate. The BTES will begin accepting student winner submissions on March 17, 2023. Please allow up to 6 weeks from time of submission until the medallion and certificate are received. It is up to each architecture program to plan accordingly so that you receive the certificate and medallion in time for graduation or end-of-year award ceremonies.

Each submission form will include:

  • Student's name
  • Institution
  • Degree completed
  • Name of BTES faculty member
  • Description of how this student is exemplary in regard to the award criteria (500 words maximum)
  • Student headshot (jpg, square format, 1080 x 1080 pixels)
  • Up to 3 images of the student’s work (jpg, square format, 1080 x 1080 pixels)

The name, photograph, and example student work of the award recipients will be published on the BTES website. Please ensure that all submitted materials are approved for dissemination to a public audience.


For questions or clarifications, please email secretary@btes.org.



2021 Award Winners

2022 Award Winners

2023 Award Winners



Carmen Trudell, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Ulrich Dangel, The University of Texas at Austin, Texas